in

Rose Gardening Community

A RoseMagazine.com Sponsored Community

Winterizing Tender Roses in Cold Weather Regions

Last post 05-23-2009 5:25 AM by Jersey Shore Rose Novice. 3 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 01-05-2007 10:43 PM

Winterizing Tender Roses in Cold Weather Regions

I have been requested to re-post this topic. I previously had it posted in response to another enquirey.

I am not an expert (yet), but I live in southern Saskatchewan (Zone 3a) and, as such, have quite a bit of experience with winterizing tender roses. I have about 250 roses, of which at least 50% can be considered as tender and about 20% very tender roses. I also believe that my winterizing method helps significantly reduce blackspot and other fungal diseases in my rose garden from re-occuring the following year.

The commonly understood criteria for protecting roses in our climate is to prevent freeze-thaw damages in the canes during the spring time when night time temperatures drop to below freezing and when daytime temperatures are high enough to kick start the plant. It seems that the extreme cold is not overly harmful, except for the most tender of roses and when temperatures are below -40 to -50 (brrrrrr). I have been almost 100% successful when our winter temperatures have not been lower than -30 and at least 85% successful if they happen to drop below -40.

Here is what I do, which is a bit different than what you might read in other publications: